Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages (2023)

Celiac.com's latest gluten-free beer, wine and alcohol guide & listing.

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages (1)


Caption: Photo: CC by-sa 2.0--hanspetermeyer.com

(Video) All The Types Of Alcohol That Are Gluten Free

Celiac.com 06/05/2020(Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.

Gluten-Free Beer

In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beersmade with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.

Gluten-Removed Beer

Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):
A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.

(Video) Which Alcohols Are Gluten-Free?

Distilled Spirits

Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product, and starting 9/14/2020 distilled alcohols can be labelled "gluten-free" no matter their source. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."

Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:

Naturally Gluten-free Beers

  • Anheuser-Busch Redbridge
  • Bard's Gold
  • Bard's Tale Beer
  • Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre
  • Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche
  • Brunehaut Bio Ambrée
  • Brunehaut Blonde Bio
  • Brunehaut Blanche
  • Burning Brothers Brewing
  • Coors Peak
  • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale
  • Departed Soles Brewing Company
  • Drummond Gluten Free
  • Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator
  • Ghostfish Brewery
  • Glutenberg American Pale Ale
  • Glutenberg Blonde
  • Glutenberg Belgian Double
  • Glutenberg India Pale Ale
  • Glutenberg Rousse
  • Green's Discovery Amber Ale
  • Green's Endeavour
  • Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager
  • Green's India Pale Ale
  • Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale
  • Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale
  • Ground Breaker IPA No. 5
  • Ground Breaker Dark Ale
  • Holidaily Brewing Company
  • Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
  • Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
  • Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale
  • Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style
  • Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free
  • Mongozo Premium Pilsener
  • New Planet Belgian Style Ale
  • New Planet Blonde Ale
  • New Planet Pale Ale
  • New Planet Raspberry Ale
  • New Planet Seclusion IPA
  • New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale
  • Nickel Brook Gluten Free
  • Nouvelle France La Messagère
  • Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits
  • Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale
  • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon
  • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium
  • Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale
  • Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales
  • Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout
  • To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free
  • Whistler Forager

Gluten-Removed Beers

  • Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch
  • Brunehaut Bio Tripel
  • Estrella Damm Daura
  • Estrella Damm Daura Marzen
  • Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer
  • Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free
  • Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free
  • Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA
  • Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free
  • New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales
  • Short's Brewing Space Rock
  • Stone Delicious IPA
  • Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager
  • Widmer Omission Lager
  • Widmer Omission IPA
  • Widmer Omission Pale Ale
  • Wold Top Against The Grain
  • Wold Top Marmalade Porter
  • Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA

Gluten-Free Hard Cider

Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!

Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider

Ace Ciders
Angry Orchard
Blue Mountain Cider Company
Blackthorn Cider
Bulmer's Hard Cider
Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
Gaymer Cider Company
Harpoon Craft Cider
J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
Lazy Jack's Cider
Magner's Cider
Newton's Folly Hard Cider
Original Sin Hard Cider
Spire Mountain Draft Cider
Strongbow Cider
Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
Woodchuck
Woodpecker Cider

Is Wine Gluten-Free?

All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

(Video) GLUTEN FREE BEER made easy! [+Pale Ale Recipe]

Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols

Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

Is Gin Gluten-Free?

Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

Brands of Gluten-Free Gin

  • Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes

Brands of Standard Gin

  • Aviation American Gin
  • Beefeater
  • Bombay
  • Bombay Sapphire
  • Boodles British Gin
  • Booth's Gin
  • Gordon's
  • Leopolds Gin
  • New Amsterdam Gin
  • Seagram's
  • Tanqueray

Is Rum Gluten-Free?

Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.

(Video) The Right Gluten Free Alcohol! What Is The Right Gluten Free Alcohol?

Brands of Gluten-Free Rum

  • Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
  • Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
  • Bayou Rum
  • Bundaberg Rum
  • Captain Morgan Rum
  • Cruzan Rum
  • Malibu Rum
  • Montanya Distillers
  • Mount Gay Rum
  • Meyer's Rum

Gluten-Free Sake

Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

Is Tequila Gluten-Free?

Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.

Brands of Gluten-free Tequila

  • 1519 Tequila
  • 1800 Tequila
  • Cabo Wabo
  • Casamigos
  • Cazadores
  • Chimayo
  • Don Julio
  • El Jimador
  • Herradura
  • Hornitos
  • Jose Cuervo
  • Patrón
  • Sauza

Is Vodka Gluten-Free?

Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.

Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka

  • Broken Shed Vodka
  • Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
  • Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
  • Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
  • Rice Vodka—Kissui
  • Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

(Video) An Extensive List of the Best Gluten free Alcoholic Beverages

Vodkas distilled from cereal grains

  • Barley Vodka—Finlandia
  • Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,
  • Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
  • Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka
  • Gluten-Free Whiskey

Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

Gluten-free Whiskey Brands

  • Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum
  • Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats

Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains

  • Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
  • Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
  • Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
  • Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
  • Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,
  • Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
  • Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
  • Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
  • Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker
  • Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?

The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.

Gluten-Free Wine Coolers

  • Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
  • Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages

Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits

  • Brandy
  • Campari
  • Champagne
  • Cognac—made from grapes
  • Cointreau
  • Grappa
  • Jaegermeister
  • Midori
  • Prosecco
  • Khalua Coffee Liquer
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Old Deadly Cider
  • Sambuca
  • Vermouth

Gluten-Free Drink Mixes

  • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
  • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
  • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
  • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
  • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
  • TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
  • TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol

  • Club Tom Collins—made with corn
  • Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
  • Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
  • Mead—made from honey
  • Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
  • Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
  • Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
  • Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice

Additives Are Sometimes Used in Alcohols/Spirits

Certain spirits use chemical additives and preservatives such as glycerin to create a specific "mouth feel" and texture in an alcoholic beverage. Propylene glycol is used in foods and spirits, and although these ingredients are gluten-free, some people do have allergic reactions to them. Sulfites are often added to red wines, and many people are allergic to them.

FAQs

What alcoholic beverage is gluten free? ›

Distilled spirits: Brandy, rum, and tequila are naturally gluten-free. Chopin and Tito's vodkas, Cold River Gin or Schramm Organic Gin, and Queen Jennie Whiskey are gluten-free. Liqueurs: Chartreuse, Cointreau, Disaronno, Grand Marnier, Hennessy, Kahlúa, Sambuca, and Martini are gluten-free.

What drinks at the bar that is gluten free? ›

However, certain mixed drinks are generally safe to drink. These include cosmopolitans, daiquiris, mojitos, margaritas, and Moscow mules. Overall, gluten-free alcohol options include hard ciders, vodka, and gin that comes from potatoes, rum, and most tequilas.

Can you drink alcohol when gluten free? ›

Yes, pure, distilled liquor, even if made from wheat, barley, or rye, is considered gluten-free. Most liquors are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in liquors that add flavorings or other additives after distillation.

What alcohol is high in gluten? ›

Again, gluten grains are most often used to produce vodka, whiskey, bourbon, rye, and gin. 10 So, you'll need to avoid drinks made with all of these liquors unless you know the liquor in question wasn't made from wheat, barley, or rye.

Are Coronas gluten-free? ›

no. Corona is not gluten-free.

Is Heineken gluten-free? ›

Traditional beers (hello, Budweiser, Coors, Corona, Heineken, and the list goes on) are most often made with malted barley and sometimes wheat. Both of these grains contain gluten, so they're a hard no for anyone on a gluten-free (GF) diet.

Videos

1. Gluten-Free Beers (That Aren't Ciders) Taste Test | Tap List
(Flatland)
2. Gluten Free Liquor: What Spirits and Wine Are Gluten Free
(Haskell's | The Wine People)
3. Drinking as a Celiac
(There is Life After Gluten)
4. The Royal Caribbean drink package mistake too many people are still making
(Royal Caribbean Blog)
5. Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
(Demos Health)
6. Hey Dude: Is hard alcohol gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease?
(Gluten Dude)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Patricia Veum II

Last Updated: 01/06/2023

Views: 6343

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (44 voted)

Reviews: 83% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Patricia Veum II

Birthday: 1994-12-16

Address: 2064 Little Summit, Goldieton, MS 97651-0862

Phone: +6873952696715

Job: Principal Officer

Hobby: Rafting, Cabaret, Candle making, Jigsaw puzzles, Inline skating, Magic, Graffiti

Introduction: My name is Patricia Veum II, I am a vast, combative, smiling, famous, inexpensive, zealous, sparkling person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.